Deactivate a volume

This call deactivates a volume. Note that this request is based off of the PATCH request to update a volume.

Once deactivated, you cannot import from, export to, or browse within a volume. As such, the content of the files imported from this volume will no longer be accessible on the Platform. However, you can update the volume and manage members. Note that you cannot deactivate the volume if you have running imports or exports unless you force the operation using the query parameter force=true, as described below.

Note that to delete a volume, first you must deactivate it and delete all files which have been imported from the volume to the Platform.

If you want to reactivate the volume at a later time, make this call again with the key "active" set to "true" in the request body.

📘

If you are using Seven Bridges Platform EU, please use the following endpoint: https://eu-api.sbgenomics.com/v2/storage/volumes/{volume_owner_username}/{volume_name}

Example request body

{
    "active": false
}

Response

See a list of Seven Bridges Platform-specific response codes that may be contained in the body of the response .

Response body

The response object contains information about the specified volume. The information is structured using the following key-value pairs:

Key

Data type of value

Description of value

active

Boolean

If a volume is deactivated, this field will be set to false

id

String

ID of this volume, containing owner/name

name

String

Name of the volume.

description

String

The description of this volume.

created_on

String

The date and time this volume was created.

modified_on

String

The date and time this volume was last modified.

👍

Note that you cannot view volumes that you have created via the visual interface. However, you can see all your volumes by making the call to list volumes.

Language